Building a real world Salesforce CRM App

Building a real world Salesforce CRM App

I missed my blogging yesterday because I got involved in something interesting that I'm working on. It's a very offbeat venture, called "Lovedoo" - Laddoos made out of Love. I won't explain it out here in this blog, but you can visit it on the website. I'll keep that for another blog may be.

In my last blog, I mentioned how I'm now gonna work on an actual use case and it's implementation rather than picking up random topics, implementing and writing about it. So, I thought that since I already have a fair idea about this venture, I'm gonna build a Salesforce use case around this. It's gonna be fun and will help me understand how a CRM actually helps improve the Sales and Services of a company. Since, I'll be doing it from scratch, I'll learn the A-Z of the process.

So, in this case, I'll start only with the Sales Cloud implementation and then further move to adding additional features. In my use case, I'll need the following objects:
1. Campaign : This will help me track the campaigns that I can use for my business like online marketing, advertisement, Emails, Referral Programs, etc.

2. Campaign Member : Customers who'll be a part of a Campaign will be the Campaign members of that specific campaign.

3. Lead : If customers click on an Instagram Ad Campaign that I create or to a Web to Lead form present on my website, the information could be saved on Salesforce as Leads. I will use this to track my potential customers.

4. Accounts & Contacts : In my business, I may have individual customers who are investing in my product or I may get lucky and be approached by big players in the Food industry seeking my product. Those would be the Accounts and Contacts within my Org.

5. Opportunity : If one of the Leads that have been captured shows genuine interest in terms of revenue generation, those Leads will be converted to Opportunity.

6. Products : The "Lovedoos" that I'll be selling will be the products in my org. Right now, I may have only a handful of products. But, that's sure to grow.

7. Quotes : Quote will handle the details of the proposal that I offer to a customer.

8. Tasks, Activities : When my business grows, I'll have a lot of handle. Tasks and activities will remind me to follow-up on my leads or any chores related to my accounts that I may have.

9. Contract : If I get lucky and strike a deal with one of the Online Delivery platforms for deliveries on a scheduled interval, that could be tracked in the Contracts object.

10. Order : When one of the opportunities, conduct a financial deal and place an order, the details could be tracked using this object.

11. Case : In my business, we are open to customization of products as well. So, any such requests, feedbacks, queries or even complaints could be tracked using the Case object.

If you are confused about the above objects, you can check out my blog where I have explained all the above Sales Cloud Objects in a way that you can understand.

At this stage, I'm not sure if the above Data model that I have thought of will serve the purpose to improve my business. But, I'll learn it on the way. In my next blog, I'll talk about the actual implementation of the above in Salesforce and of any challenges that I faced.

Stay tuned and follow the thread to understand the bigger picture of the Salesforce Implementation.