Wait, I am not a coder!! 🥱

Wait, I am not a coder!! 🥱

·

2 min read

I wouldn't be surprised if you found the title surprising. Oh yeah, that was my story. Circling back to the dawn of my coding journey, I did my bachelors in computer science and my grades weren’t bad either. Then, I took up a job as a CRM developer where I had to code 10 hours a day. This was no joke. But, despite all the effort I put there, I never held pride in calling myself a software engineer, a techie or a CRM developer. You ask why?

Let me tell you why. In my entire journey, I focused on a language, I learnt the syntax and my happiness was limited to seeing the output of a code that I have written. I’d be puzzled if somebody asked me - Hey, what’s the processor like in the new laptop you bought or Hey, could you please install the new windows in my laptop that has been corrupted? I would think to myself - That’s not my job. I’m not supposed to know that.

It wasn’t not knowing that was the problem, but it was the fact that I had killed my curiousity was. I had limited myself to syntax, jargon, languages and what the textbook taught me. I never opened myself to possibilities of what tech can do. How it can change lives. How it can fix things with click of a button. And how when you think you know it all, it becomes obsolete and there’s a new tech in the market and the possibility of it blows your mind. I can’t be a know it all because technology is never ending. But, is the kid in me still alive to question everything tech?

I’d definitely say that I’m far ahead from where I started, but very far from where I want to be, but the fun is in the journey. And btw, I can now proudly say that - I am a woman who codes because my curiosity to dig into the little things is back into action. I am willing to learn, unlearn and share and that’s the start of something big. Are you with me in your journey of technology?